It stabs

…like a wound inflicted by an enemy, in distaste, not in haste but slowly, as if the longer the torture, better the torment.

Why should I be trapped such? Shall peace never be mine again? Must I spoil something that doesn’t even exist yet?

If laughter I could have and a little warmth perhaps I shall be heartened. But is this too fantastical?

And what if it is? Would you rather I lost my sanity looking over barriers just to catch a glimpse of the bridge of a nose or the top of a head? Must I constantly filter out his voice from all the noise and down the temptation to look his way?

All it really takes to keep my day ticking is a glance, an acknowledgement, of knowing that he sees me. Does that make me desperate or just plain pathetic?

If only he knew. .. how he stabs me all day long.

One thought on “It stabs

Leave a Reply

