Being Me (NaPoWriMo #1)

I’m participating in NaPoWriMo (National Poetry Writing Month) this April, and I’m super-excited! I have to devote myself to writing a poem a day and I’ve no idea how sincerely I can keep up and whether my creative juices will keep flowing that frequently, but I’m attempting it all the same.

Here’s Day 01 Verse…

Being Me 

I dance and dance till I find my tune

Then I sing along at the top of my voice

I laugh and laugh until all the jokes are done

Then I cry long and  hard

I switch on all the lights and let myself fill up with the brightness

Then I turn them all off and sit alone in the darkness

I keep on being the ladder for all to continue their struggle on the way up

Then I slump and jump off the cliff myself

Sometimes I am one person, somebody for all the world to see

But I’m a whole lot different instead, when I’m really being me

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

