It’s Your World Against Mine

I look at you looking at me

And I know what’s on your mind

Through your eyes and mine

You wish to see the world tonight

But why oh why

Can’t this be true?

Why can’t I love you?

What’s that line in between?

It’s your world against mine

In my lap

Rests your head

And you dream of a time

When we hold hands and

Sing the songs of the summer’s bliss

But then you hear

The voices of those who don’t understand

Those noises that tear at our hearts

And tear us apart

Why oh why

Can’t this be true?

Why can’t I love you?

What’s that line in between?

It’s your world against mine

Dissolving away are our dreams,

Those seasons of mirth and joy

Vanishing behind all that hatred

Is a love of a lifetime

I stand here

Just for you

Wishing a wish that’ll never come true

You know how much I love you

Why oh why

Can’t this be true?

Why can’t I love you?

What’s that line in between?

It’s your world against mine

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

